January 29, 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm America/Chicago Timezone
Sarah Elsen

Medical Team


[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eJhPwfrZ0aY]

Empowering nurses to participate in antimicrobial stewardship programs is the missing link in strengthening antimicrobial stewardship and improving patient care.  It has been found that nurses are generally not comfortable with microbiology reports.  Join us to learn how to interpret lab results to improve patient care and antimicrobial stewardship in your community.

Webinar Objectives:

  1. Describe the laboratory testing cycle. 
  2. List the 4 reasons for ordering a laboratory test.
  3. Explain the approaches for establishing a diagnosis. 
  4. Practice correlating test results for a diagnosis of sepsis.   

Target Audience:
Providers, nurses, practice managers and clinical staff from all healthcare organizations in the community are invited to join this event.

Continuing Education:
CEU credit has been requested and is pending approval from the North Dakota Board of Nursing for this event.

Roxanne Alter, M.S.MLS (ASCP) 
Roxanne has worked at the University of Nebraska Medical Center for 35years as a Medical Laboratory Scientist.  In 1988 she was offered a faculty position in the College of Allied health teaching medical laboratory students and other health professionals. Her teaching activities included lectures and practice on how to evaluate laboratory data.   In the summer of 2010 she worked on special projects for Dr. Paul Fey, the Director of Clinical Microbiology.   It was during these projects that she evaluated hospitals in Africa and Haiti. She became the state biosafety officer in the fall of 2015.  She has spent the last 3 years in training classes for Biosafety and has traveled across the state doing risk assessments in hospital clinical laboratories. 


Brought to you by the Great Plains Quality Innovation Network, the QIN-QIO serving Kansas, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota in partnership with the QIN-QIOs serving Alaska, Colorado, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming